Driving Innovation in the Ocean Economy: Canada’s Ocean Supercluster Announces Interim Management Team

Posted on April 11, 2018

< Back to news

ATLANTIC CANADA – Canada’s Ocean Supercluster is pleased to announce its interim management team—a distributed group tasked with operationalizing the Ocean Supercluster and setting it up for success.

The management team includes representation from across Atlantic Canada and demonstrates the diversity of Canada’s ocean industries. Members of the interim team are:

  • Matt Hebb, CEO (on a secondment from Dalhousie University);
  • Susan Hunt, Chief Technology Officer (on a secondment from Petroleum Research Newfoundland and Labrador); and
  • Melody Pardoe, Chief Engagement Officer.

“We’re ready to build on the momentum that is taking place across the ocean sectors and capitalize on opportunities—not only for the Atlantic Provinces but for all of Canada,” said Hebb.

An interim steering group of investors who developed the Ocean Supercluster proposal is funding start-up costs, and will provide oversight of start-up activity. The group is composed of industry leaders:

  • Brian Grant, Chevron Canada
  • Chris Huskilson, representing Emera
  • Carman Mullins, ExxonMobil Canada
  • Robert Orr, InnovaSea Canada
  • John Risley, Clearwater Fine Foods Inc.

“The federal government’s co-investment in the Ocean Supercluster is significant and gives ocean companies the opportunity to better leverage science and technology to build a digital, knowledge-based ocean economy,” said Risley.

“We know there is a lot to be done and the team will be working throughout the region and across the country to engage with our partners,” added Alan Clarke, CEO of Petroleum Research Newfoundland and Labrador.  

“This is a big moment and opportunity for Canada’s ocean economy,” said Hebb. “We’re ready to get to work." 

Biographies of interim management team members are below. For more information about Canada’s Ocean Supercluster, please visit: https://www.oceansupercluster.ca.

Interim Management Team Biographies: 

Matt Hebb, Chief Executive Officer
Matt Hebb serves as Assistant Vice President, Government Relations and Economic Development at Dalhousie University and has been a key proponent of the Ocean Supercluster effort since its conception. With a background in developing collaborative partnerships, Hebb has worked on a number of innovation-based ocean projects, including the Ocean Frontier Institute and the Centre for Ocean Ventures and Entrepreneurship. He currently serves as the Board Chair for the Halifax Partnership. 

Susan Hunt, Chief Technology Officer
Susan Hunt joined Petroleum Research Newfoundland and Labrador (PRNL) in 2012. At PRNL, she facilitates collaborative research relationships between local companies and industry by developing R&D programs and managing R&D project development, contracting, and delivery. Hunt led the development of the Ocean Supercluster’s technology leadership strategy and shared innovation roadmap, a cross-sectoral collaboration that will enable future ocean economic developments and industry capabilities.

Melody Pardoe, Chief Engagement Officer
Melody Pardoe has been an active leader within Atlantic Canada’s innovation economy, working on stakeholder focused community development. For four years, Pardoe was an executive at Volta Labs, the leading technology hub in the region, where she supported a growing community of entrepreneurs and industry leaders. During her time as Executive Director, Volta more than doubled in size and saw the launch of Atlantic Canada’s first Innovation Outpost.